DEVILS HOLE LODGE

A little piece of Heaven!

  • Guest Jen (Indiana)
  • Date of stay 07/23/13
  • Review Submitted 08/01/13
My husband and I stayed 5 days, as a little getaway without the kids. The lodge was absolutely awesome! The feeling is warm and cozy, the furniture very comfortable, and we loved the fireplace- used it every night. The decor was perfect, not overdone. Everything was very clean, linens were nice and plentiful. It was very nice having a washer/dryer available. It was so peaceful there! The weather was cool enough to leave the windows open 24/7 and enjoy the breezes, listening to the wind in the trees and the bird chatter. I fed a squirrel on the deck all week. There is almost no traffic on the dirt road in front, and the neighbors are very quiet. The only thing we bought after the first day was bottled water, as we didn't care for the taste of the well water. It certainly wasn't bad, just not what we're used to. Kyle was great, quickly answering my numerous emailed questions before our trip, referring us to a great fishing guide, and checking on us after we returned home. We definitely want to return to this little piece of Heaven! Maybe for some Fall color next time.....

  • What a Wonderful Time !!!

    • Guest The Hazen's (Walled Lake MI United States)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    The photos of this cabin are an absolute true tell. Secluded but not too far from shopping, sight seeing and Michigan's Adventures. You will find lot's of information in the cabin about places to eat, shopping, local highlights and other attractions nearby. The cabin is clean and well stocked with towels, shampoo, body wash, everything but your food. The water get's hot, the shower is roomy. Kyle did warn us that there was no access to the river, and he wasn't lying, it's steep, but you can watch the tubers, and canoers. There is a gas grill a fire pit and a picnic table on the back deck. And most of all PET FRIENDLY. I would definitely recommend this rental. I am sure there is much to do in the winter as well.

  • Guest Cadia (Arcadia, MI)

    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/03/13
    I was looking for a quiet get away after a hectic year of teaching...this was just the place. The home was comfortable, modern, and quiet. I loved eating and reading on the deck listening to the river and birds. Kyle was very responsive and made me feel welcome from the very beginning. My weekend there went way beyond expectations and I've returned home refreshed. My only concern now is how to get back there...maybe in August before a new school year? Devil's Hole will be an annual retreat for me.
    • Date of stay 04/04/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    My family has stayed at this cabin several times a year. My brother is a local fishing guide, we enjoy this cabin everytime we visit. My little one refers to the cabin as "our cabin". It is a great little cabin to enjoy all the amenities from home and the surrounding Michigan outdoors.

  • Relax and fish at 5 star cabin

    • Guest patricia (Brunswick, Ohio by Cleveland)
    • Date of stay 04/30/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    My stay with my son for 5 days was so beautiful at this cabin. We did some fishing on the river and the steelhead and trout were everywhere! What a great time!! It is so thoughtfully decorated and comfortable and clean. Definately a 5 star right on the river with a wonderful outdoor patio with firepit, benches and a beautiful view. Close by to gas, shops and food. Will always come back every year. Very relaxing. Thank you Kyle and Deb for the beautiful cabin.
  • Special and Solid Sportsmen's Lodging

    • Guest CB (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    My interaction with unique and quality lodging while on a fishing trip greatly contributes toward the overall enjoyment I get out of those trips. I try real hard to find lodging consistent with what my and my party's ideas are for a solid and, with any luck, special place to call home base while pursuing fish away from home. I frequent the Muskegon river during steelhead and salmon season and have stayed in good places around Newaygo in the past though they lacked privacy and some of the comforts of home that are real bonuses after a long day on the river. A group of 3 of us were fortunate enough to find the Devil's Hole Lodge this Spring (March 2013) and booked it. We were beyond pleased with what we found waiting for us. The lodge in this case is a charming green and white house situated in the forest and overlooking the Muskegon on a bluff. We really got the feeling that we were "in country" staying there which was perfect. It's extremely clear that the lodge owners take pride in it. The place was in great shape and well maintained. Every comfort of home was present inside including a fireplace in the main bedroom. We got a lot of use out of the dryer which turned out to be great for drying out our cold wet fishing apparel before the next day's use. The walls are amply appointed with trophy mounts and excellent angling nostalgia. The living room projects and delivers on comfort and sportsmen-friendly style. A scotch on the rocks or beer in a bottle while chatting with my buddies and watching TV ended the nights well here. Comfortable and ample sofa space are good things while resting in the evenings during a trip. The overall mood of the place was perfect. Plus the heater kept us toasty. The beds were all comfortable. Really comfortable. Thank you for so thoughtfully setting this place up, Kyle and Debbie. The lodge greatly helped made our trip enjoyable. We look forward to coming back for another stay this Fall.
  • Cabin is a GREAT value and PERFECT for couples, families, several guys fishing

    • Guest dudeyak (Ft. Worth TX)
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/16/13
    Devil's Hole Lodge turned out to be an excellent and pleasant place to base ourselves from, on a recent fishing trip on the nearby Muskegon River. Do NOT be deceived by the photo of the front of the cabin - the interior is MUCH larger than most would imagine. Furnishings are updated, and with both a front porch and deck / sitting area at the rear of the property, there is ample room for groups of 2-7 folks to move around without being in each others' way. Beds are very comfortable - it's obvious that Kyle & Debby didn't scrimp when it came to interior appointments and furnishings. We cooked nearly every day there, and found everything at hand - there is even a Crock-Pot that you can fill at the beginning of your day, and have dinner ready-made for you when you return. What a good idea, almost like being "at home". Very quiet & peaceful neighborhood, close access to boat launch ramp, too.

  • Website Builder